Skip to main content

The airport remains open for essential travel.

Updates on international travel

The Scottish Government operates a traffic light system for international travel to aid the safe return of travel, rating countries as Green, Amber or Red depending on a number of factors - you can see this list by clicking here.

Passengers must follow certain requirements depending on where they have travelled from, and passengers should ensure they understand what they are required to do ahead of travel. These requirements can be read by clicking here.

Passengers who have been fully-vaccinated and who are arriving from amber list countries in EU member states, the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries, microstates of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City, and the USA do not have to quarantine or take a day 8 test upon arrival in Scotland. This is from 0400 on Monday 2 August 2021.

Arrivals will have to carry with them a form of certification to provide details of their vaccine status. For US arrivals, this proof is a CDC card showing you are fully vaccinated, along with proof of residence in the US. All arrivals from Europe must show a record of vaccination through the European Digital COVID Certificate.

Further information on this is available on the Scottish Government website. The following link includes the list of countries and their colour rating, information on what you must do if travelling from these countries, how to book tests and the Passenger Locator Form that must be filled out before travel - click here to be taken to that page.  

Vaccination status scheme

People from Scotland who are travelling abroad are now able to access their record of vaccination status themselves. The vaccination status letter can be requested from the NHS Inform patient portal or - for those not online - requested in the post via a Freephone Covid Status Helpline.

The Scottish Government scheme is designed only for people travelling to a country or territory where a record of vaccination status is needed as an entry requirement.

People will be able to request this certificate online, by logging on to

Freephone Covid Status Helpline: 0808 196 8565.

Please note - this is a government scheme, it is not managed by the airport. We continue to remind passengers to check the requirements of both their destination country and their airline ahead of travel.

Managed isolation (quarantine hotel)

If you have to enter managed isolation then you must book this ahead of travel. This is a Scottish Government requirement - the airport does not manage or control this policy.

It is important that passengers read and understand the guidance ahead of travel - that guidance can be read by clicking this link.

There are some passengers who will be exempt from this rule and that list of exemptions can be found on the Scottish Government website.

Additional information and advice

As ever, we recommend all passengers continue to check with their airline for latest flight information and any specific travel requirements they have.

We recommend passengers also check the requirements of their destination country ahead of travel.

Governments at home and abroad regularly review their travel policies, and so it is important to check any local rules or restrictions before you travel.

Travel and local levels

People living in Scotland will be aware of the Covid restrictions for local areas - these are controlled and managed by the Scottish Government.

You can find out the restriction level for your area by using the Scottish Government's postcode checker.

Covid-19 Case Data

We’ve used independent data from the World Health Organization to create some handy dashboards that will help you to make informed travel decisions.

Check the data